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1. 
What is Child Protection Services?
Protective Services for children in North Carolina is a mandated program to protect children while helping parents become better in their role as parents.  Each county department of social services has the legal responsibility to investigate all reports of child maltreatment in which children may be endangered by the actions of their parents or other caretakers.

2. What is the difference between child abuse and child neglect?
Child abuse is the physical, sexual, or emotional abuse of a child by his/her parent or other caretaker in which circumstances indicate that a child’s health or welfare is harmed or at substantial risk or being harmed.  A child may have physical injuries, suffered an act of sexual molestation or exploitation, or have an observable and substantial impairment psychologically as a result of the actions of their caretaker.

Child Neglect is the failure to give proper care and attention to a child to include leaving a child unsupervised to the extent the child is at risk or harm, and creating an environment that is injurious to the health, safety, and well-being of a child.

3. Can I find out who made a report on my family?
The identity of the reporter remains confidential.

4. Do I have a choice to receive Child Protection Services?
Once the agency receives and accepts a report the Department is mandated to assess the situation.  The family is mandated to comply, but there are times court involvement is necessary.

5. Does child abuse just happen with families?
Child maltreatment can occur in all types of settings.  Children in daycare, schools, foster homes, group homes, and residential facilities are protected by the same law that children residing in their homes are protected.

6. What happens in a CPS investigation?
Generally during CPS involvement, a social worker is assigned that will visually see the child/children and all household members.  He or she will interview all persons living in the home to gather as much information as possible.  The goal of the interviews is to determine if abuse or neglect has occurred by the caretaker.  After gathering all the facts, the social worker and supervisor decide whether an incident of abuse or neglect occurred and whether further intervention will be needed.

7. How long will CPS be involved with my family?
North Carolina has benchmarks for intervention with families, however, there are times that family assessments may exceed 45 days and investigations may exceed 30 days.  Often there is a delay in receiving valuable information that will be necessary to reach an informed case decision.  The average intervention could last up to 60 days. 

8. Will CPS take my children away from me?
Being investigated by CPS does not mean that your children will be removed from the home.  As human service practitioners, social workers believe that children should remain with their parents unless there is no way to guarantee the child’s safety. If a child cannot remain safely with parents, the family is asked to explore their kinship network.  Children always do better if they are placed in familiar settings with other family members.  Only when there is immediate danger to a child/children’s physical health or safety, or after a Court orders removal, does CPS remove children.

9. If my children are taken away by CPS, can I get them back?
Most removals are temporary for the protection of the children.  It is never the intent of CPS for children to be taken away from their parents permanently.  If children are removed, the social worker will work with the family to decrease the risk that led to removal and hopefully make it safe for the child/children to return home.

TO MAKE A CHILD PROTECTIVE SERVICES REPORT
CALL 919-560-8422
For more Information about Durham County DSS go to www.dconc.gov/dss
CPS FAQ
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